They’re a not less than 50,000 Salvadorians in Milan. You can actually hear our accent everywhere in metros or buses, even if they are speaking Italian.

Currently, I’m hired by a Salvadorian company to build their advertising image, based on our folklore and addressed to Salvadorians living abroad. Of all the “creative” projects I’ve been involved, there is certainly not a research as entertaining as this one. I lived in El Salvador for seventeen years and I’m eager to come back and make a research of the happy creative humans that reside in this country.

When I remember my childhood or I see these pictures, I don’t even understand the mixture of cultures living inside me, but I’m certainly proud of being born there and spending so much of my time in the country side. We certainly don’t know about accurate boundaries of beauty or even the proper way of doing most of things… we don’t even know how to be “exotic” or “touristic”, but I think we do know how to improvise, how to smile, and how to laugh at our problems.

I’m sharing some of the pictures of some Salvadorian virtual communities that I found during my research. I can assure you all these things happen (constantly).

This post is dedicated to one of the smallest and happiest countries in the world. Grande El Salvador!

Rainy days

Rainy days

Less Rainy days

Less Rainy days

The classic "Reina del carnaval"

The classic “Reina del carnaval”

Ultimo modelo

Ultimo modelo

Abarrotería Gual-mart

Abarrotería Gual-mart

But he would rather have a blackberry

But he would rather have a blackberry

At the gas station

At the gas station

"Los aguacates están maduros, si quiere apretar, apriete el coco"

“Los aguacates están maduros, si quieres apretar, apriete el coco”

New ways of making a line.

New ways of making a line.

Cusuco, Ready for lunch

Ready for lunch

Dijeron que iban a prohibir las cachiporras, pero no dijeron nada en los cachiporros. Nada.

Dijeron que iban a prohibir las cachiporras, pero no dijeron nada en los cachiporros. Nada.

